a whole lot of granny square goodness!

I am in LOVE with granny squares! There is something about them that is just so homely and lovely.

I think I have probably spent more time looking at pictures of granny squares, rather than actually making them, but there is just so much inspiration out there I couldn’t stop. Little Tin Bird and Attic24 have the most amazing colour combinations, just all summery and lovely. I also found some quite cool alternatives to a blanket or cushion here and here.

As nice as the swimming costume and the slippers are, I thought I’d just go for a cushion for my first attempt…

what do you think? I quite like it. The colours do match my living room, but also remind me of the scouts.

I’m very much a novice crocheter and I learnt a few things while i was making this I thought it would be a good idea to share incase you were considering getting yourself a little bit of granny squaring action…

1. Tension is REALLY important! Knitting and crocheting books say this all the time and my usual response is ‘muh?’, but when you are making something like this and you do one square slightly tighter, it just won’t fit together.

2. Tension is REALLY important! I also discovered that the tension of the join is quite important too. I pulled mine really tight because I thought that would help hold it together, but it just meant the joins were really tight compared to the squares and the squares a puffing up a little bit. This isn’t so bad for this because it’s a cushion, but if i were to make a blanket, I’d be a bit more careful.

I’ve also had a little holiday since my last post. As much as I love the UK, and there is something very British about a rainy summer, it was very nice to get to the sunshine for a few days. I really wanted to take something with me to keep my crafting fingers busy so I decided to take some thread and make a friendship bracelet. I used to make these all summer when I was little, but I needed a bit of a refresher and found this amazing tutorial here. I didn’t go for the heart pattern, I tried some little chevrons instead…

I had a little bit of thread left over and just couldn’t help myself….

I’m not quite sure what to do with them, but you have to admit… they’re pretty cool!

C.x

One comment

Leave a Reply

