Granny squares galore!!

So, big news, my sister is up the duff (she hates it when I say that, but what’s she going to do?)  This news is SOOOOO EXCITING!!!  I still can’t believe it and it’s going to be popping out in November, not long to go!

As this is the first baby of the family I wanted to make something very special, but she has refused to find out if this little sprog is a boy or a girl, my money’s on a girl.  As much as this is a nice idea, it has made it VERY difficult to decide what to make, but I think I’ve cracked it!

granny square baby blanketTo cater for all eventualities I had to pick a fairly mixed colour palette.  The last thing I wanted to do was go from cream, or yellow, or green, or orange on their own, so I thought I’d go for all of them, and throw in a bit of pink and blue for good measure.

granny square baby blanket

 

Unfortunately this meant breaking my only remaining new years resolution and buying more wool.  But as this baby was not anticipated at the time of setting the resolutions, I believe this is entirely justified, really it is.

granny square baby blanketI cannot stop smiling at the (nearly) finished article!!!!  A baby blanket fit for a Queen (because it will be a girl).

granny square baby blanketI spent a LOT of time trying to decide how to join all the little squares.  I could have joined them as I went, Lucy at attic24 has a good method for this,  but I really want to get all the squares done and play with the layout.  Lucy has a good method for doing this too, but I decided to do it like a seem and sew the little v’s together, if you know what I mean.

granny square baby blanketI LOVE the effect, it makes a really cool little ridge between all the squares on the front, and the back is very neat and tidy.  I have to add more photos of the back…

The 4-way joins were a little bit more complicated, I had to make them tight, but not so tight that they made the blanket inflexible.  The last time I tried joining granny squares I made this mistake at the finished piece was all warped and just not right.

granny square baby blanketI was just going to add a few granny square rows around the outside, but if I do that I won’t get this nice ridge around the outside.  So I’m experimenting with a little bit of granny square stripes and then attaching these to the outer edge in the same seam join, hopefully this will work, I’ll let you know.

crochet granny square border

 

I just LOVE this blanket!  I’m quite tempted to keep it for myself, but I suppose I should give it to my brand new baby niece, when she arrives, so I should get a month or two longer to look at it, before it ends up covered in baby vom.

granny square baby blanket

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. I love this! The colours are great! I never have the patience to finish a whole blanket but seeing this really makes me want to.
    Well done!

    1. Thanks very much! I wasn’t entirely sure the colour combo would work, but I’m really happy with the results.
      My head hurts when I think about how much time I spent on it, but a couple of granny squares at a time helps to break it up. You should definitely have a go!!x

Leave a comment